sapsANA reports that police forensics on Thursday released the names of the six mineworkers who were killed after a petrol bomb was set off inside the bus they were travelling in earlier this month.  

The bus was en route to Limpopo's Modikwa Platinum Mine near Burgersfort transporting the workers for the night shift.  The deceased are Moniccah Mabilo, 57, from Ga Mahlokwane village, Johannes Malepe, 56, Ziphora Makuwa, 48, both from Driekop, Solomon Komana, 37, Simon Mahlokwane, 42, both from Ga Mahlokwane village and 58-year-old Pheta Ranku from Lesotho.  The assailants boarded the bus and set off the petrol bomb before fleeing the scene, leaving six workers burnt beyond recognition and 28 others severely injured.  Five people have since been arrested and made their second appearance in the Mecklenburg Magistrate's Court on Thursday charged with six counts of murder, attempted murder and malicious damage to property.  The case was postponed to 26 April for bail applications.

Get other news reports at the SA Labour News home page